On behalf of the local organizing committee, we would like to welcome you to the 18th Asian Conference on Solid State Ionics (ACSSI-2024) to be held in Meenakshi College for Women, Kodambakkam, Chennai. ACSSI is a biannual event lasting more than 30 years, in which scientists and engineers all over the Asia come together to discuss the fundamentals and applications related to solid state ionics. The conference will cover all classic and emerging topics such as fuel cells, batteries, sensors and other ionics systems. The goal of the conference is to present the latest R&D in this field as well as to provide an opportunity for leading scientists and young researchers to interact and inspire with each other.

    Chennai, formerly known as Madras, is the capital city of Tamil Nadu, the southernmost Indian state. It is the state's primate city both in area and population and is located on the Coromandel Coast of the Bay of Bengal. It is the oldest city corporation of India, established in 1688—the second oldest in the world after London. Historically, Chennai and surroundings were part of the Chola, Pandya, Pallava and Vijayanagara kingdoms for many centuries. The coastal land, which then contained the fishing village Madrasapattinam, was purchased by the British East India Company from the Nayak ruler Damarla Chennapa Nayaka, in the 17th century. The British garrison established the Madras city and port, and built Fort St. George—the first British fortress in India. The city is coterminous with Chennai district, which together with the adjoining suburbs constitutes the Chennai Metropolitan Area, the 36th-largest urban area in the world by population and one of the largest metropolitan economies of India. As the traditional and de facto gateway of South India, Chennai is among the most-visited Indian cities by foreigners. It was ranked the 43rd most-visited city in the world in 2015 and 36th in 2019. The Quality of Living Survey rates it as India's safest city. Chennai attracts 45 percent of health tourists visiting India, and 30 to 40 percent of domestic health tourists. As such, it is termed "India's health capital". Chennai has the fifth-largest urban economy, and had the third-largest expatriate population in India. Marina beach in Chennai along the Bay of Bengal is India’s longest and world’s second longest beach. This predominantly sandy of nearly 12 kilometers extends from Beasant Nagar in the south to Fort St. George in the north.

    This scientific program is accompanied by a social program that will give you the opportunity to explore these enjoyable features.

    We, the organizers wish you very interesting days and fruitful discussions in ACSSI-2024!


Chair persons
ACSSI - 2024.


Dr. Zhaoyin Wen, Chinese academy of Sciences, China
Dr. Stefan Adams, National University of Singapore, Singapore
Dr. B.V.R. Chowdari, Nayang technological University, Singapore
Dr. Junichi Kawamura, Tohoku University, Japan
Prof. Werner Weppner, University of Kiel, Germany
Dr. Rudolf Maier, University of Brasilia, Brazil
Dr. Arumugam Manthiram, University of Texas, USA
Dr. N. Kalaiselvi, CSIR, India
Dr. K. J. Sreeram, CECRI, India
Prof. Hanxing Liu, Wuhan University of Technology, China
Prof. EvvyKartini, BATAN, Indonesia
Prof. Jong- Sook Lee, KRIBB, Korea
Prof. A K. Arof, University of Malaya, Malaysia
Prof. S.R.S. Prabaharan, IBE Technology, India
Prof. Ryoji Kanno, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Prof. N. Imanishi, Mie University, Japan
Dr. Koji Amezawa, Tohoku University, Japan
Dr. Akitoshi Hayashi, Osaka Prefecture University, Japan
Dr. Koichi Eguchi, Kyoto University, Japan
Dr. Genki Kobayashi, Institute for Molecular Science, Japan
Dr. Vijayakumar Murugesan, PNNL, USA
Dr. Venkatraman Thangadurai, University of Calgary, Canada
Prof. V.A. Seneviratne, University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka
Dr. Han III Yoo, Seoul National University, South Korea
Prof. Hong Li, Chinese academy of Sciences, China
Dr.LI Hongxi, Soochow University, China
Dr. Lang Jian, Soochow University, China
Dr. M.A.K.L. Dissanayake, National Institute of Fundamental Sciences, Sri Lanka
Dr. M.A. Careem, University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka
Prof. A.K. Thakur, IIT Patna, India
Prof. Ramesh, University of Malaya, Malaysia
Dr. B. Rambabu, Southern University, USA
Dr. R. Sudharsan, ACQUBIT, USA
Dr. Ingo Manke, Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, Germany
Dr. Manfred Martin, RWTH Aachen University, Germany
Dr. Masaru Aniya, Kumamoto University, Japan
Dr. Vito Di Noto, University of Padova, Italy
Dr. K V R Chary, Rowan University, USA.
Dr. Daisuke Mori, Mie University, Japan
Dr. Zamri Zainal Abidin, University of Malaya, Malaysia
Dr. U. Kamachi Mudali,VC, Homi Bhabha National Institute, Mumbai
Dr. B. Venkatraman, IGCAR, Kalpakam, Chennai
Dr. D.V. Gopinath, Ex Group Director, HSEG, BARC
Prof. Avesh Kumar Tyagi, BARC, Mumbai
Prof. N.Munichandraiah, IISc, Bangalore
Dr. K. Hariharan, IIT Madras, Chennai
Dr. Ajit Kulkarni, IIT Bombay, Mumbai
Prof. K. Shahi, IIT Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh
Prof. Satpal Singh Sekhon, Guru Nanak Dev University, Punjab
Dr. Safir Ahmad Hashmi, Delhi University, Delhi
Prof. Bhaskar Bhattacharya, BHU, Uttar Pradesh
Prof. Pramod Kumar Singh, Sharda University, Uttar Pradesh
Dr. Amita Chandra, Delhi University, Delhi
Dr. Murugan Ramaswamy, Pondicherry University, Pondicherry
Dr. B. Nalini, Avinashilingam University, Coimbatore
Dr. Balaji P Mandal, BARC, Mumbai
Dr. Neelam Srivastava, BHU, Uttar Pradesh
Dr. S. Austin Suthanthiraraj, University of Madras, Chennai
Dr. S. Selladurai, Anna University, Chennai
Dr. Praveen Kumar Sappidi, IIT Jodhpur, Rajasthan
Dr. Sampat Raj Vadera, IIT Jodhpur, Rajasthan
Dr. Ambesh Dixit, IIT Jodhpur, Rajasthan
Dr. Prabeer Barpanda, IISc, Bangalore
Dr. R. Kalai Selvan, Bharathiar University, Coimbatore
Dr. S. N. Tiwari, DDU Gorakhpur University, Uttar Pradesh
Prof. Raj Kishore Sharma, University of Delhi, Delhi
Dr. S. P. Pandey, Teerthanker Mahaveer University, Uttar Pradesh
Dr. R. M. Mehra, Sharda University, Uttar Pradesh
Dr. S. Selvasekarapandian, MRC, Coimbatore, Convener
Dr. K. S. Lakshmi, MCW, Chennai, Co- convener
Dr. V. Meenakshisundaram, MCW, Secretary
Dr. S.P. Radhika, MCW, Treasurer
Dr. L.V. Krishnan, Ex Group Director, IGCAR
Dr. B.S. Sandhu, President, ISRP
Dr. N. Manju, MCW
Ms. V. Vijayashri, MCW
Dr. R. Vani, MCW
Ms. E. Manjula, MCW
Ms. Suba Chandrasekar, MCW
Ms. Sindu Sabariraj, MCW
Dr. J. Punniyakotti, MCW
Ms. S. Mohana, MCW